First World Problem

I am often guilty of (melodramatically) drawing the conclusion that there is ‘nothing to eat’ in the house. Lately, however, I have been trying to suppress these words and actually look past the first layer of the contents in my freezer or pick up the boxes and cans that have been hiding in my cabinets, maybe think about what could be done with them. I did, at one point, intentionally purchase these ingredients after-all. I have read about challenges online in which participants refrain from shopping for a week in an effort to cut down waste, save money and use up food that has been sitting around. I have never made it a week, but in a small tribute to this idea I decided to man up and see what I could come up with under pressure using only random ingredients from what I had in the house. In my mind I was already ahead with eggs and bacon. Awhile ago I learned an ingenious trick to freeze chopped green onions in a water bottle, so I had those on hand as well. In my freezer door sat, neglected, a pack of Trader Joe’s Garlic Naan bread. Someday I will learn to make naan, but for the purpose of this post I used what was available to me to put together these little naan bread ‘pizzas’. A touch of creativity (bacon makes that slightly easier), a sense of spontaneity (I actually only had coconut milk on hand when I made this) and you will find something to eat.

Naan Bread ‘Pizzas’ with Bacon and White Sauce
Serves 2

For the Sauce:
2 Tbsp butter
2 Tbsp flour
1 – 1 1/4 cup milk
1/2 cup sharp cheese ( i.e. parmesan, gruyère)
salt & pepper to taste

2 – 4 strips thick bacon
2 pieces frozen garlic Naan
1 green onion, chopped
2 eggs
Salt
Pepper

Melt butter in saucepan over medium-low heat. Add flour and stir until well-blended. Season with salt and pepper. Add milk while stirring slowly. Add cheese, stirring slowly until smooth. Season with salt and pepper to taste. Preheat oven for naan bread and cook according to package. Heat skillet over medium heat. Add bacon and cook until crisp on both sides. Remove from heat onto plate covered with a paper towel. Cut into small pieces. In a medium skillet, heat oil to medium heat. Carefully crack eggs one at a time into the pan ensuring yolks do not break. Sprinkle with some salt and pepper. Cook over low heat until yolks set, about 2 minutes. Place cover over pan, turn heat off and let the eggs continue to cook until whites are no longer translucent. Place naan on plates. If white sauce has congealed, warm over low heat, stirring. Add a drop or two of cognac or apple cider vinegar if desired. Distribute sauce evenly between breads. sprinkle with shallots. Add bacon. Very Carefully add egg to the top of each pizza, flat-bread or open-faced naan sandwich.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

